Powertrain Solutions

Powertrain Solutions

Powertrain Solutions – we develop future-proof drives

Trends in the powertrain area are complex and multifaceted: The majority of attention is paid to electromobility. At the same time, tight CO₂ thresholds on combustion engines and various power unit derivatives call for improvements and optimizations. Whereas the focus was once on the development of individual components, now it is on the optimization of the system as a whole, on process steps that are linked methodically, and on a high degree of development automation.

Tighter legal frameworks influence all powertrain development areas, because progress can only be achieved by optimizing the system as a whole. That is why at Bertrandt both engineering in thermodynamics and emissions control, drivetrain control, thermal management and engine mechanics as well as testing services are closely intermeshed, and all available from one source.

Overview of our solutions:

Overview of services:

The entire world in one place. And it’s near you. State-of-the-art equipment and perfectly coordinated processes ensure a high level of reliability and cost-effectiveness. In striving for accreditation based on ISO 17025, we provide neutral and non-proprietary solutions for validation, certification and homologation of powertrain concepts of the future.

Learn more here.

 

Bertrandt develops solutions for the entire emissions control chain. We reduce raw emissions and work on the exhaust aftertreatment. For type approval tests and homologation preparations we will be using our own emission labs in future.

  • Engineering and testing facility services: From charge cycle to charging and right to exhaust aftertreatment, we develop solutions and always strive in the context of conflicting interests, such as drivability, consumption, and emissions, to achieve the optimum result.
  • Labs for chassis dynamometer testing: In our emission labs being built, we operate chassis dynamometers under real environmental conditions related to climate and height, as well as different power outputs and speeds of up to 550 kW and 300 km/h.
  • All emissions regulations worldwide: We measure emissions under real driving conditions, and take into account emissions regulations worldwide for combustion engines and alternative powertrains.

Exhaust aftertreatment project example: For exhaust aftertreatment on passenger car engines, the engine and chassis dynamometer tests were planned and conducted, the necessary application tasks adopted, and emissions approval documents prepared for the approval authorities.

Project example, operator model for chassis dynamometers: The operator model comprises everything from the entire vehicle logistics, such as receipt and collection, the capacity management of the testing facilities, the handling of testing data, the country-specific tests, right to analyses of the tests and also advising process partners.

We ensure quick results and lower costs by linking together all process steps in a methodical way and raising the level of automation.

  • Concept development with preliminary design and simulation of powertrain, modules, and components.
  • Design of hardware development for components as well as control and regulation system functionality.
  • Optimization of engine and drive systems with respect to drivability, consumption, performance and emissions, with validation of components and modules in our testing facilities.
  • Realization of the drive systems in the vehicle and provision of the testing resources for series applications to check emissions and to completely evaluate the system.
  • Type approval tests and homologation to comply with legal provisions.

Project example, basic 4-cylinder engines application: For vehicle preparation and commissioning, we planned and conducted the engine and chassis dynamometer tests along with RDE test drives, including vehicle coordination, documentation and performance homologation.

Project example, simulation of LW testing: We conducted LW testing for V6/V8 diesel and 8 cylinder gasoline engines with full load leveling and partial load, variant calculations, and more.

Project example, simulation of fleet consumption and CO₂: The simulation for trucks and buses included the construction of simulation models for the whole vehicle, all the way up to complete fleet calculations.

Powertrain development based on four functional pillars

We provide development services for powertrains for cars with combustion engines and for alternative drives with anything from hybrid and electric systems, through to fuel cell systems, all the way to alternative fuels.

Thermodynamics and emissions control: We develop simulation models to evaluate different drive configurations, including alternative powertrains, and we process all steps in development, from gas exchange all the way through to emissions control for the overall system.

Drivetrain control: We develop engine control unit functions and calibration methods and apply and calibrate the control unit functions.

Thermal management: We optimize energetic heat management in the vehicle, and design components for it; we develop trial models, simulate among others engine coolers, vehicle air flow and air flow through the engine compartment, and we validate with testing and trials and apply the necessary control unit functions.

Engine mechanics: Our services include the design of the basic engine, auxiliary equipment, and engine peripheries, all the way to hybrid components with concept and package for the parts development, including trials and testing. We develop simulations for multibody systems (MBS) to calculate strength (FEM), for cooling and oil systems, as well as flows (CFD).

Your Contact

Sven Neumann

Vice President Operations – Powertrain Solutions

Related Topics

Simulation Solutions

Design Solutions

Bertrandt Powertrain Solution Center

Powertrain Development

Powertrain Solutions

Powertrain Solutions

Powertrain Solutions – wir entwickeln zukunftsfähige Antriebe

Die Trends im Bereich Powertrain sind komplex und vielschichtig: Die Elektromobilität erhält höchste Aufmerksamkeit. Gleichzeitig erfordern enge CO₂-Grenzwerte bei Verbrennungsmotoren und diversen Antriebsderivaten Verbesserungen und Optimierungen. Der Fokus liegt nicht mehr auf der Entwicklung einzelner Komponenten, sondern auf der Optimierung des Gesamtsystems, auf methodisch verknüpften Prozessschritten und einem hohen Automatisierungsgrad in der Entwicklung.

Engere gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen haben Auswirkungen auf alle Powertrain-Entwicklungsbereiche, denn Fortschritte sind nur durch ein optimiertes Gesamtsystem zu erreichen. Deshalb sind sowohl das Engineering in den Bereichen Thermodynamik und Emissionierung, Triebstrangregelung, Thermomanagement und Motormechanik, als auch die Prüfleistungen bei Bertrandt eng miteinander verzahnt und kommen aus einer Hand.

Unsere Lösungen im Überblick:

Unsere Themenfelder im Überblick

Die ganze Welt an einem Ort. Und das in Ihrer Nähe. Modernste Ausstattung und perfekt aufeinander abgestimmte Prozesse sichern eine hohe Zuverlässigkeit und Kosteneffizienz. Mit der angestrebten Akkreditierung nach ISO 17025 bieten wir neutral und herstellerunabhängig Lösungen für die Absicherung, Zertifizierung und Zulassungsprüfung von Antriebskonzepten der Zukunft.

Mehr zu Bertrandt Powertrain Solution Center erfahren

Bertrandt entwickelt neue Lösungen für die gesamte Wirkungskette der Emissionierung. Wir vermindern die Rohemissionen und arbeiten an der Abgasnachbehandlung. Für Typprüfungen und zur Homologationsvorbereitung nutzen wir zukünftig eigene Emissionslabore.

  • Engineering und Prüfstandsleistungen: Wir entwickeln Lösungen, vom Ladungswechsel über Aufladung bin hin zur Abgasnachbehandlung, und streben im Spannungsverhältnis von Fahrbarkeit, Verbrauch und Emissionen stets nach dem bestmöglichen Ergebnis.
  • Labore für Rollenprüfstandstests: In unseren entstehenden Emissionslaboren betreiben wir Rollenprüfstände unter realen Umweltbedingungen bzgl. Klima und Höhe als auch unterschiedlicher Leistungen und Geschwindigkeiten mit bis zu 550 kW und 300 km/h.
  • Weltweit alle Emissionsvorschriften: Wir messen die Emissionen unter realen Fahrbedingungen und berücksichtigen die weltweiten Emissionsvorschriften für Verbrennungsmotoren und alternative Antriebsstränge.

Projektbeispiel Abgasnachbehandlung: Für die Abgasnachbehandlung von Pkw-Motoren wurden die Motor- und Rollenprüfstandsuntersuchungen geplant und durchgeführt, die notwendigen Applikationsaufgaben übernommen sowie die Emissionsfreigabedokumente für die Zulassungsbehörden erstellt.

Projektbeispiel Betreibermodell für Rollenprüfstände: Das Betreibermodell umfasste die gesamte Fahrzeuglogistik wie Annahme und -abholung, die Auslastungssteuerung der Prüfstände, das Testdatenhandling, die länderspezifischen Tests bis hin zu den Testauswertungen und einschließlich der Beratung der Prozesspartner.

Wir sorgen für schnelle Ergebnisse und senken die Kosten, indem wir alle Prozessschritte methodisch eng verknüpfen und den Automatisierungsgrad weiter erhöhen.

  • Konzeptentwicklung mit Vorauslegung und Simulation von Antriebsstrang, Modulen und Komponenten.
  • Design für Hardware-Entwicklung von Komponenten sowie der Funktionen von Steuer- und Regelsystemen.
  • Optimierung von Motor und Antrieb hinsichtlich Fahrbarkeit, Verbrauch, Leistung und Emissionen mit Validierung der Komponenten und Module auf unseren Prüfständen.
  • Realisierung der Antriebe im Fahrzeug, Bereitstellung der Prüfressourcen für Serienapplikationen zur Kontrolle der Emission und zur kompletten Systembewertung.
  • Typprüfung und Homologation zur Einhaltung der gesetzlichen Vorgaben.

Projektbeispiel Grundapplikation 4-Zylinder-Motoren: Für die Fahrzeugvorbereitung und Inbetriebnahme haben wir die Motor- und Rollenprüfstandsuntersuchungen sowie die RDE-Messfahrten geplant und durchgeführt, einschließlich Fahrzeugkoordination, Dokumentation und Leistungszulassung.

Projektbeispiel Simulation LW-Untersuchungen: Wir haben LW-Untersuchungen durchgeführt für V6-/V8-Diesel und 8-Zyl-Ottomotoren mit Volllastabgleich und Teillast, Variantenrechnungen usw.

Projektbeispiel Simulation Flottenverbrauch und CO₂: Die Simulation für Lkw und Busse umfasste den Aufbau von Gesamtfahrzeug-Simulationsmodellen bis hin zu kompletten Flottenberechnungen.

Powertrain-Entwicklung auf vier fachlichen Säulen

Wir liefern Entwicklungsleistungen für den Antriebsstrang von Automobilen mit Verbrennungsmotor und für alternative Antriebe von Hybridisierung, Elektrifizierung über Brennstoffzellen bis hin zu alternativen Kraftstoffen.

Thermodynamik und Emissionierung: Wir entwickeln Simulationsmodelle zur Bewertung verschiedener Antriebskonfigurationen einschließlich alternativer Antriebsstränge und bearbeiten alle Entwicklungsschritte vom Ladungswechsel bis zur Emissionierung des Gesamtsystems.

Triebstrangregelung: Wir entwickeln Motorsteuergerät-Funktionen, Kalibriermethoden und setzen die Applikation und Kalibrierung der Steuergerätfunktionen um.

Thermomanagement: Wir optimieren den energetischen Wärmehaushalt im Kraftfahrzeug, konstruieren dafür Komponenten, entwickeln Versuchsmodelle, simulieren u.a. die Aggregatkühlung, Fahrzeuganströmung und die Motorraum-Durchströmung, sichern durch Versuch und Erprobung ab und applizieren die notwendigen Steuergerätfunktionen.

Motormechanik: Unsere Leistungen umfassen das Design für Grundmotor, Nebenaggregate, Motorperipherie bis hin zu Hybridkomponenten mit Konzept und Package für die Bauteilentwicklung, einschließlich Versuch und Erprobung. Wir erstellen Simulationen für Mehrkörpersysteme (MKS) zur Festigkeitsberechnung (FEM), für Kühlung und Ölhaushalt sowie Strömungen (CFD).

Thermodynamik und Emissionierung

Triebstrangregelung

Thermomanagement

Motormechanik

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Sven Neumann

Vice President Operations – Powertrain Solutions

Verwandte Themen

Simulation Solutions

Design Solutions

Bertrandt Powertrain Solution Center

Antriebs-Entwicklung

Motorrad-Entwicklung: Antrieb