Vehicle Data Management

Smart Solution for Vehicle Data Management

A joint solution from Bertrandt and b-plus for the entire value chain of ADAS/AD data acquisition.

The reliable validation of ADAS/AD functions requires that all data are made visible. In addition to an optimum, requirement-specific, and technical vehicle integration solution for measuring equipment, Bertrandt also provides you with all the necessary sensors, and ensures the associated system networking and connectivity. At the same time, you can use our solutions to further process the measured data you have collected, as well as analyzing them with the aid of AI, and evaluating them in accordance with your requirements.       

Our focus is on you as our customer and your entire value chain. We provide you with all services from a single source: from development and the construction of a test vehicle, to worldwide testing and the AI-driven evaluation of your data, regardless of whether this takes place in-vehicle or off-vehicle. It goes without saying that we also support you by assuming responsibility for data and vehicle logistics as well as test planning and coordination of your vehicle fleet.

In order to guarantee that your measuring tasks are performed with a high quality and without failures or loss of data, it is necessary to merge together the hardware and software of the measuring equipment, the vehicle functions, and the peripheral systems, such as the cooling system. Only with the aid of powerful and reliable measuring equipment is it possible to develop and validate viable systems. The key factor is how well this measuring equipment works within the complete vehicle system. This requires a strong energy supply, a reliable and user-friendly operating concept (HMI), and sufficient cooling for the measuring equipment itself.   

quote-icon

Increasingly complex measuring technology is resulting in an increase in the requirements for integrating the measuring equipment into the vehicle. This is particularly relevant for the electric power supply, thermal loads (cooling), and the human-machine interfaces of the measuring systems. Only with highly developed integration of measuring equipment into the vehicle and the merging of the different measuring systems through intelligent peripherals is it ultimately possible to keep vehicle downtimes as short as possible and to ensure a highly cost-effective use of the test vehicle.

Manuel Rivoir, Leader Autonomous Driving & Infotainment

Even in large vehicles, space requirements have become a real challenge in the meantime. Without a targeted installation space analysis, it is no longer possible to integrate extensive measuring equipment and sensor set-ups in particular into the vehicle. Typically, this is evaluated and optimized in advance in a CAD-based installation space analysis. Aspects such as air guidance, accessibility, modularity, exchangeability, and cable routing need to be taken into account.

Many test drives end without results, for example because the measuring equipment did not work properly or because a technical defect occurred. Often, this only becomes apparent after weeks of time-consuming and costly testing. These problems can be significantly reduced by secure and above all “supported” operation of the measuring systems. Smart software solutions, such as checklist-based start-up and shutdown procedures similar to those applied in aviation and using a tablet computer, are now essential. Intelligent, software-supported operating strategies that are adapted to your use case can help to avoid errors. These strategies can recognize early on when hard disks are getting too full, can forecast how much battery life remains, or can even protect the measuring systems and the data by initiating a proactive shutdown, for example in the case of overheating or a short circuit. Finally, live in-car analytics can detect dirty or disconnected sensors and provide the necessary feedback to the driver.

As computing power increases, the amount of waste heat and the electric power requirements of the computer systems in the vehicle also increase proportionally. Without active controlled cooling (air or water cooling) and a power management system that is designed for the amount of power required, safe and stable operation of the measuring equipment is not possible. In the meantime, electric power consumptions of more than 3000W or waste heat quantities of more than 300W are not uncommon. Especially the poor heat transfer coefficients of cooling by air convection leave no other choice than water cooling. A stable energy supply requires a power management architecture which, in addition to using the vehicle’s on-board power system (generator) through a DC/DC booster, also contains additional batteries for the measuring equipment and an on-board charger to operate the vehicle in the workshop, as well as resettable fuses in many cases.

Find out more!

Your Contact

Manuel Rivoir

Leader Autonomous Driving & Infotainment

Vehicle Data Management

Vehicle Data Management

Smart Solution for Vehicle Data Management

Eine gemeinsame Lösung von Bertrandt und b-plus für die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette der ADAS/AD-Datenerfassung.

Für eine zuverlässige Absicherung von ADAS/AD-Funktionen müssen alle Daten sichtbar gemacht werden. Neben einer optimalen, anforderungsspezifischen und technischen Fahrzeugintegrationslösung für Messtechnik bietet Ihnen Bertrandt zusätzlich auch alle erforderlichen Sensoren und sorgt für eine entsprechende Systemvernetzung. Gleichzeitig können Sie mit unseren Lösungen Ihre gewonnenen Messdaten weiterverarbeiten, unter Einsatz von KI analysieren und entsprechend Ihrer Anforderungen auswerten.

Dabei stehen Sie als unser Kunde und Ihre gesamte Wertschöpfungskette im Fokus. Wir bieten Ihnen von der Entwicklung, dem Aufbau des Testfahrzeugs über die weltweite Erprobung bis hin zur KI-getriebenen Auswertung Ihrer Daten, unabhängig davon ob in- oder off-vehicle, alle Leistungen aus einer Hand. Selbstverständlich übernehmen wir auch die Daten- und Fahrzeuglogistik sowie die Erprobungsplanung und Koordination der Flotte für Sie!

Um Ihre Messaufgaben mit hoher Qualität und ohne Ausfall oder Datenverlust gewährleisten zu können, müssen die Hard- und Software der Messtechnik, die Fahrzeugfunktionen und die Peripheriesysteme, wie beispielsweise die Kühlung, miteinander verschmolzen werden. Nur eine leistungsstarke und zuverlässige Messtechnik ermöglicht die Entwicklung und Validierung von tragfähigen Systemen. Entscheidend ist, wie gut diese Messtechnik im Gesamtsystem des Fahrzeugs funktioniert. Dafür ist eine leistungsstarke Energieversorgung, ein sicheres und benutzerfreundliches Bedienkonzept (HMI), aber auch eine ausreichende Kühlung der Messtechnik notwendig.

quote-icon

Durch die immer komplexere Messtechnik steigen auch die Anforderungen an die Integration der Messtechnik im Fahrzeug. Insbesondere die elektrische Leistungsbereitstellung, die thermische Belastung (Kühlung) sowie die Bedienung (HMI) der Messtechnik sind davon betroffen. Nur durch eine hochentwickelte Messtechnikeinbindung in das Fahrzeug und eine Verschmelzung der Messtechnik durch eine intelligente Peripherie sind schlussendlich geringe Fahrzeugstillstandszeiten und somit eine hohe Effektivität des Erprobungsträgers möglich.

Julian Kapitel, System House for ADAS/AD

Selbst bei großen Fahrzeugen ist der Platzbedarf inzwischen eine echte Herausforderung geworden. Ohne eine gezielte Bauraumstudie lassen sich insbesondere umfangreiche Messtechnik- und Sensorsetups nicht mehr im Fahrzeug integrieren. Typischerweise wird dies vorab in einer Bauraumanalyse mittels CAD bewertet und optimiert. Aspekte wie Luftführung, Zugänglichkeit, Modularität, Tauschbarkeit oder auch Kabelverlegungswege müssen mitberücksichtigt werden.

Viele Versuchsfahrten enden ohne Ergebnis, weil beispielsweise die Messtechnik nicht ordnungsgemäß funktioniert hat oder gar ein technischer Defekt auftrat. Oft wird dies erst nach einer wochenlangen, zeit- und geldintensiven Erprobung bekannt. Eine sichere und vor allem „unterstützte“ Messtechnikbedienung reduziert diese Probleme erheblich. Smarte SW-Lösungen, wie zum Beispiel checklisten-artige Hochfahr- und Herunterfahr-Prozeduren, ähnlich derer in der Luftfahrt, über ein Tablet sind inzwischen unumgänglich. Intelligente, an Ihren UseCase angepasste, SW-unterstütze Betriebsstrategien helfen Fehler zu vermeiden: volle Festplatten werden frühzeitig erkannt, Restlaufzeiten für Akkukapazität prognostiziert oder gar die Messtechnik und Daten durch proaktives Herunterfahren, sei es aus Überhitzung oder Kurzschluss, geschützt. Letztlich können Incar-live-Analytics verschmutzte oder nicht angeschlossene Sensoren erkennen und dem Fahrer entsprechende Rückmeldung geben.

Mit zunehmender Rechenleistung steigt proportional auch die Abwärme und der elektrische Leistungsbedarf der Computersysteme im Fahrzeug. Ohne eine aktiv geregelte Kühlung (Luft- oder Wasserkühlung) sowie ein auf die Leistungsanforderung ausgelegtes Powermanagement ist ein sicherer und stabiler Betrieb der Messtechnik nicht möglich. Inzwischen sind elektrische Leistungen von rund 3000W oder Abwärmemengen von mehr als 300W keine Seltenheit. Insbesondere die schlechten Wärmeübergangskoeffizienten bei der Kühlung durch Konvektion an Luft lassen keine andere Wahl als eine Wasserkühlung. Für eine stabile Energieversorgung bedarf es einer Powermanagement-Architektur, die neben der Verwendung des Fahrzeugbordnetzes (Generator) durch einen DC/DC-Booster auch zusätzliche Messtechnikbatterien, Onboard-Lader für den Betrieb des Fahrzeugs in der Werkstatt und oftmals auch Softfuses beinhaltet.

Erfahren Sie mehr!

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Julian Kapitel

Teamleiter System House for ADAS/AD